Comfort Eating

Image result for sad girl eating ice cream

“When I was a child, I didn’t have power over very many things. I didn’t decide when people would hurt me and I couldn’t make it stop. I couldn’t make my mom pay attention to me. But I did find solace in a few things like food. So escaping the pain through food gave me some sense of comfort and control. Back then, that was my only choice. There was no way to improve my life in any real way so numbing the pain was the only option. My goal in life became to go in the opposite direction of the pain since I couldn’t succeed at anything else.”

~ The Rescued Soul by Christina Enevoldsen

Leave a Reply

