The Crazy Mental Health ‘Industry’

Why healers are needed

Is free thinking a mental illness?

Take a relatively new mental illness ‘label’ called “oppositional defiant disorder” or ODD.  Defined as an “ongoing pattern of disobedient, hostile and defiant behavior,” symptoms include questioning authority, negativity, defiance, argumentativeness, and being easily annoyed.

Once that was a ‘personality trait’ called a rebel (or a revolutionary, political protester, nonconformist). Someone who challenges authority to effect social change, or rejects spiritual systems that do not serve inner needs.

In the last 50 years, the DSM-IV has gone from 130 to 357 mental illnesses. WTF.. Just a question.. are new “mental illnesses” created for political repression?

And why does the media portray mental illness as dangerous, when the people I’ve met with bipolar, depression, OCD, PTSD, schizophrenia or who have experienced a spiritual crisis have been the most aware, intelligent, creative, caring, gentle and soulful people I have ever met.

It’s a shame they are duped to believe they are ‘sick’ instead of sensitive, and that they need meds when the majority would do well with loving support, gentle guidance, someone who listens and cares and the time to heal.

In 2013 an estimated 44 million adults in the US had any mental illness, and 10 million suffered from a serious mental illness in the past year.

According to a study, the general population believe the cause of mental illness is childhood abuse, trauma, adult life crisis, or series of difficult events like loss of income, poverty, death of a loved one, trauma etc..  but according to the medical society it is due to a serious brain chemical imbalance. (To me any brain imbalance is by far a secondary issue and should be treated as secondary).

New mental illnesses identified by the DSM-IV include arrogance, narcissism, above-average creativity, cynicism, and antisocial behavior!  In the past, these were called “personality traits,” but now they’re diseases.

Are these symptoms of a culture over-diagnosing and overmedicating?

A Washington Post article observed that, if Mozart were born today, he would be diagnosed with ADD and “medicated into barren normality”.

Jesus would have above average creativity (as an illness), dissociative disorder, schizophrenia, God complex, schizoaffective disorder, and not considered a spiritual teacher or on a shamanic path. He would also be medicated to barren ‘normality’.

What is normal?

Are we being mentally and spiritually oppressed? Is our culture pro-healing? Does our culture accept freethinkers, or are we just barely out of the dark ages?

According to the DSM-IV, the diagnosis guidelines for identifying oppositional defiant disorder are for children, but adults can just as easily suffer from the disease.  This should give any freethinkers reason for worry.?

As an example, the Soviet Union used new “mental illnesses” for political repression.  People who didn’t accept the beliefs of the Communist Party developed a new type of schizophrenia.  They suffered from the delusion of believing communism was wrong.  They were isolated, forcefully medicated, and put through repressive “therapy” to bring them back to sanity.

When the last edition of the DSM-IV was published, identifying the symptoms of various mental illnesses in children, there was a jump in the diagnosis and medication of children.

Some American states have laws that allow protective agencies to forcibly medicate, and even make it a punishable crime to withhold medication.  This paints a chilling picture for those of us who are nonconformists.

The labeling of freethinking and nonconformity as mental illnesses has a lot of potential for abuse.  It can easily become a weapon in the arsenal of a repressive state, and the media only feeds that picture with fear. ‘Out of control’ mentally ill people go on shooting sprees. The real fact is that ‘mentally ill’ people are much more likely to have been the victims of violence than the perpetrators of community violence.

So what is this all about.. fear, corporate greed, political control, lack of compassion, the easiest fix for a difficult problem, or that those with no heart (empathy) or wisdom are in control..they do say that sociopaths/ narcissists are always at the corporate top, and that sociopaths don’t suffer from mental illness because they’re the ones that cause it in everyone else .

Any opinions..

To me it’s those that have suffered and healed who can help change this crazy system. As we heal, we are the educators and healers. It’s time to shine a light and get out of the dark ages..

19 thoughts on “The Crazy Mental Health ‘Industry’

  1. Above-average creativity is a mental disorder. *sigh*

    So much bullshit and greed. More disorders mean more medication. More medication means the pharmaceuticals make more money. The pharmaceutical invent even more disorders. Vicious circle.

    A chemical imbalance? Abuse is a secondary reason? Of course it is. Because modern medicine is treating symptoms. Because it happens to feed the greed.

    Ok I’ll stop now.

      • Yes and some of us are victims of this vicious cycle. And its getting to be that all of us have mental disorders. I do have some things wrong with me caused from fear. Fear of the way this world is going and sometimes wishing I didn’t have to be a part of it. Wishing I had been born in a simpler time before there was TVs and barcodes and so much technology everywhere. Why did Jesus have to leave and leave us down here to go through all this hell? He could have prepared us a place right here on earth. Some things I just don’t understand.

  2. Above average creativity?
    You know, natcissists and psychopaths have no creativity or original creations. This must be one reason they target creative people.

    So if there are “above average creativity” people in therapy offices it is probably because they have been targeted and abused by pathological people and they do not understand what is happening…or why they are exhibiting signs of mental illness.
    The mental health practitioners either do not understand narcissistic victim syndrome…or they are pathological narcissists themselves.

    Any given therapist could be a narcissist that is re-traumatizing the victims of abuse. And many other therapists are re-traumatizing victims because they do not understand the nature of the abusers.

    They want to bring everone into therapy and teach the family members how to communicate….as if the abusers just need to learn communication skills. Being in family therapy with a narcissist is extremely traumatizing.

    We are not “mentally ill” because we are “above average creativity.”…..we were targeted and scapegoated because the pathological people choose to victimize people who can think abstractly and creatively.

    Much love to you,
    Great post,
    Annie💕💃🌷🎵🐇🌹🌺

    • And that Annie is why you are a healer because you do get it. You’ve studied it for years, practically and in theory.

      Maybe you could work with therapists one day as an educator?? I know one day I want to work with mainstream therapists regarding the connection between mental health and abuse.
      Very true that learning communication skills in family therapy does not work with a narcissist – it just makes them smarter at manipulating!
      I believe at the top of most organisation like mental health are narcissists and sociopaths, so they make the rules. I guess they believe ‘above average creativity’ is not normal. My ex never even valued creativity or like you said had a creative bone in his body

      • I am currently working as a life coach for overcoming narcissistic abuse. I am just getting started with this. I currently have 5 clients and I am enjoying the work greatly. It is a good feeling to connect with people on a human compassionate level.
        You can also do healing work. The trick is to know that you do not have to be perfect. People that need help appreciate you anyway, because you are validating them, and listening. If you give someone your full attention at the time, it is amazing how they are craving that. It is something that people are not getting.
        Annie

      • That’s fantastic Annie, i’m so happy for you and I know you’ll be very successful <3 Yeah I am ready to start but have decided to sell my house first, maybe I can see clients now as well though. Thank you for the advice, I need it.. on some level I know I'll be good enough but lacking the confidence. I have to believe in myself :o) and I do very much care about people.
        Maybe starting now will be good for me.

  3. So much worries me about this and seems truly crazy. What really got to me a year or so ago was hearing that grief would become a form of mental illness in the new DSM whatever no version. WTF? This just reflects the point they have absolutely no idea of the role childhood trauma plays and how essential grief is in healing.

    What you have pointed about on this about pathologising the need to think for oneself and rebel against straight jacketing and conformity/bowing down to “god like” (delusional sick psychiatrists who seek to control their unwilling victims with meds) is truly scary. Seems they want total control.

    A great U-Tube movie on this called “Making a Killing” on the power of the pharmaceutical companies to control psychiatric/medical learning institutions and ensure new graduates promote their medicines showed that now even more people are being diagnosed with so called Bi-Polar disorder especially kids.

    Its so wrong and people need to speak up about it. Thanks for posting this.

    • It won’t go on forever, too many people are wise to the ‘craziness’ of it all. Our blogs are educating people, our actions and words educate people, and our healing educates people.. and help people self heal. We pass on vital information from our experiences..
      I feel sorry for the kids medicated though..
      On a high note I have found a very good psychologist and counsellor (rare but they are out there..).
      But then, I am very careful what I share with any mainstream professionals. I’ve had a lot of spiritual experiences and I do not share them with mainstream.Many to a few that have been more open too it and not judging. I do share them with those who understand like a good medium. Too many of us trust the medical profession way too much and end up humiliated. We need to use our finely attuned radars before we trust..

      • Yes many seem to give their inner power over to so called professionals and “experts”.. Ive had to leave several who wanted to medicate me.and label me and ive moved on and trusted myself even though beinf hurt and so confused at times. And you are so right in saying they not only dont recognise spiritual dimensions but pathologise spiritual emergence as a path through. ..always thrust yourself I say.

      • I’ve been in the same boat. Took meds a couple of times but realized they weren’t for me, met many idiot ‘professionals’ but there are a sprinkle of good ones out there …Yep trust your instincts and feelings always, they’re the wisdom, they’re the messengers.
        Regarding healing it’s so hard with so much going on and on so many levels… and you’re all alone to fathom it out! Be nice if I had a spiritual mentor but never found one.. My head has been in a spiritual spin of utter confusion many times. Like scrambled eggs.. God when you think about what we’ve been though .. we are pretty damn amazing :o) Some friend once told me that God never gives you more than you can handle (actually pisses me off that saying.. )But if that is the case, he must think I am one tough bitch.. but in reality I’m tired, enough’s enough, I’m going travelling, I have a country calling me and I need to find a place to call home. Somewhere where the communication is easy, the lifestyle is easy and I am valued. Fuck this drama – running away.. maybe… maybe I need to :o)

    • Many people are drawing that connection.. just not the professionals! The majority are still there to do three things.. follow the rules, diagnose, and medicate. That is why I believe mainstream and healers need to work in unison, which is my plan…. somehow :o) Could work in private practices.

      • Yes like you I have felt so strongly on thus issue for a long time. My sister who died a year ago was so spritual but drugged into a stupor by the care home she was in…she never lost her profound ability to see into the heart of things…but her spirit was trapped and blocked by the meds…it was agony to watch and I often wish I could have done more…we have to fight for our truth…we have to trust our tears our anger our fears and not back down…its taken me so long to learn this I feel you have such important work to do here SG when I read some of your posts i really feel your deep spiritual gift…♡♡

      • God I am so sorry for your loss of your sister xx Can’t even imagine how that would feel, it’s truly heartbreaking. I often wonder if these things happen to ignite our flame, our path. The system doesn’t work for sensitives.. but it could and it should. I often feel sensitives are still purposefully blocked.. we have too much wisdom for those with too little (just like the dark ages..). Evolution must occur though.
        I so happy that you trust yourself, it’s the only way to trust another.
        If there was one thing I would tell sensitive people it is to keep your mouth shut or tread very carefully about your spiritual experiences to mainstream professionals if you do not feel 100% safe.. and to keep seeking the right guidance. So hard for the super sensitives to find balance though without support, help and guidance. Hard for them to know where to turn. I prayed a lot for help, but nothing came easy, I was pushed to learn and grow.
        You are fighting for the truth like me. I do feel called to do something important, and I have felt absolutely terrified :o( but that fear has subsided greatly and now I feel more excited and scared (which is normal :o)The fear was relating to the past.. we have been persecuted through our generations. Abuse is a generational cycle, and we remember those past fears in our DNA/ blood. The dark ages was such a bloodbath, no wonder we feel scared.
        We are more balanced, smarter and wiser today.. a balanced approach is the key. All the healers need to balance their head and heart, ego and soul, thinking and feeling sides .. to be considered professional and take back their power. I get a little frustrated going to mediums because I’ve never met one yet that didn’t have fairy ornaments or unicorn posters on their walls. And they are so good! But need to be more professional to be taken seriously by mainstream.
        That old fear once held me back but I’m sure once I start I’ll be really happy. You are called too :o)You haven’t been through all this for nothing, and on a spiritual level no death is by accident, it’s a soul choice when you leave. Your sister’s life is not in vain, it’s to fuel your fire. So how can you see yourself in time working or helping as a healer?

  4. Great article, so interesting – a lot to think about. I don’t have an opinion to share. I do, however, have a question. Purely out of curiosity. Why do you feel the brain imbalance is a secondary cause of mental illness?

  5. Reblogged this on A Glimpse Inside of a Troubled Mind and commented:
    “New mental illnesses identified by the DSM-IV include arrogance, narcissism, above-average creativity, cynicism, and antisocial behavior! In the past, these were called “personality traits,” but now they’re diseases.

    Are these symptoms of a culture over-diagnosing and overmedicating?”

    • Thanks for the reblog. Seem to have accidentally deleted your comment, but thank you anyway. This is not all my own writing, I added quotes but lost the original online source to acknowledge :o(

Leave a Reply

