Protect The Wildflowers

“You belong among the wildflowers. You belong somewhere you feel free.”

The hills were alive with wildflowers
And I was as wild, even wilder than they
For at least I could run, they just died in the sun
And I refused to just wither in place

Just a wild mountain rose, needing freedom to grow
So I ran fearing not where I’d go
When a flower grows wild, it can always survive
Wildflowers don’t care where they grow

And the flowers I knew in the fields where I grew
Were content to be lost in the crowd
They were common and close, I had no room for growth
I wanted so much to branch out

I uprooted myself from home ground and left
Took my dreams and I took to the road
When a flower grows wild, it can always survive
Wildflowers don’t care where they grow

I grew up fast and wild and I never felt right
In a garden so different from me
I just never belonged, I just longed to be gone
So the garden, one day, set me free

Hitched a ride with the wind and since he was my friend
I just let him decide where we’d go
When a flower grows wild, it can always survive
Wildflowers don’t care where they grow.

‘Wildflowers’ ~ Dolly Parton

‘Do you suppose she is a wildflower’ artwork by Talula Christian 

7 thoughts on “Protect The Wildflowers

  1. We are an endangered species, but hardy, and beautiful :)
    This is one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen and read in a while. thankyou.

  2. Good morning Silver Girl. So happy to have found you through your nomination for a lovely blog…which indeed you SO are. I love this poem, you should put it to music and see where that takes you. I want to know how you turn your photos into circles – can’t figure out how to do that on PS – must be an app. I look forward to exploring your pages. hugs, gerry

    • Hi Gerry and thank you for the kind words. The poem is already a song called ‘Wildflowers’ by Dolly Parton. I’m not that good at poetry! Must add credit to her :o).
      Re. The circles: When you add photos there should be a options selection?? I’m not very techno minded – my son showed me how to do it :o)
      Have a lovely day, SilverGirl

  3. Hello,
    It’s so funny to me that you used my Wildflowers print alongside my all time favorite song! Would there be a way for you to credit me for the artwork? I’d love for people to know where to purchase the print! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

